Tools

Lemon laws by state, compared

Pick two states to see their lemon laws side by side, or scan the table of all 51 jurisdictions below, each linked to its own page and its official text.

Compare two state lemon laws

California read on the official state pageTexas read on the official state page
Protection period18 months or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first2 years or 24,000 miles or the warranty term, whichever ends first
Repair attempts4 attempts on the same defect4 attempts on the same defect
Safety defect2 attempts for a serious safety defect2 attempts for a serious safety defect
Days out of servicemore than 30 calendar days30 calendar days
NoticeDirect notice to the manufacturer only if the warranty or owner’s manual clearly requires it.Written notice to the manufacturer (certified mail preferred) and at least one chance to repair.
Dispute stepManufacturer program first. If the manufacturer has a state-certified third-party dispute program and disclosed it, you must use it before relying on the presumption in court.State-run program. Complaint to the Texas Department of Motor Vehicles ($35 fee), which holds the hearing.
DeadlineNot set in the text we readTxDMV complaint within 6 months after the earliest of the warranty end, 24 months or 24,000 miles.
Vehicles coveredNew vehicles sold in California, including demonstrators; the presumption is a guide, not an absolute rule.New cars, trucks, vans, motorcycles, ATVs, motor homes and towable RVs, bought or leased. Loaner days do not count.
Used carsUsed cars sold with a manufacturer’s new-car warranty can fall under Song-Beverly (not modeled here).Used vehicles: warranty-performance complaint only, no refund or replacement.

Cal. Civ. Code §§ 1793.2 and 1793.22 (Song-Beverly Act, Tanner Act) · California Attorney General · Tex. Occ. Code §§ 2301.601 to 2301.613 · Texas DMV. Everything you enter stays in this browser: nothing is sent or stored.

Every state and the District of Columbia has a lemon law for new cars, and no two are written alike. They share a structure: a protection period after delivery, a presumption that the car is a lemon once the same defect has been repaired a set number of times or the car has spent a set number of days at the shop, a notice to the manufacturer, a dispute step and a deadline. The numbers change across state lines. As we read them on November 1, 2026, 29 jurisdictions start the presumption at four repair attempts and 21 at three; the days test runs from 15 business or working days in Maine, Massachusetts and Mississippi to 45 calendar days in Louisiana; and 14 run or name a state program to hear claims. Where no official text could be opened, as for New Mexico, the table says not confirmed.

State laws read by Radif Partners · Editorial policy · Method and sources

All 50 states and DC

Read in early November 2026 in each state code or on the state consumer page; each state page gives the source and the date of any archived copy.
StateProtection periodAttemptsDays out of serviceDispute stepReading
Alabama1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first (the tests can run to 2 years or 24,000 miles)330 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Alaska1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first330 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Arizona2 years or 24,000 miles or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Arkansas2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever is later3 (1 safety)30 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
California18 months or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first4 (2 safety)more than 30 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Colorado2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first3 (2 safety)24 business daysNot statedconfirmed
Connecticut2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first4 (2 safety)30 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
Delaware1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first4more than 30 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
District of Columbia2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first4 (1 safety)30 daysState-run programconfirmed
Florida2 years330 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
Georgia2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first3 (1 safety)30 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
Hawaii2 years or 24,000 miles or the warranty term, whichever ends first3 (1 safety)30 business daysState-run programconfirmed
Idaho2 years or 24,000 miles or the warranty term, whichever ends first4 (1 safety)30 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Illinois1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first430 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Indiana18 months or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first430 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Iowa2 years or 24,000 miles or the warranty term, whichever ends first3 (1 safety)30 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Kansas1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Kentucky1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first430 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Louisiana1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first445 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Maine3 years or 18,000 miles or the warranty term, whichever ends first3 (1 safety)15 business daysState-run programconfirmed
Maryland2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first4 (1 safety)30 calendar daysOptionalconfirmed
Massachusetts1 year or 15,000 miles, whichever comes first315 business daysState-run programconfirmed
Michigan1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Minnesota2 years or the warranty term, whichever ends first4 (1 safety)30 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Mississippi1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first315 working daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Missouri1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 working daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Montana2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first430 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Nebraska1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first440 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Nevada1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
New Hampshirethe manufacturer’s express warranty term330 business daysState-run programconfirmed
New Jersey2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first3 (2 safety)20 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
New Mexiconot confirmednot confirmednot confirmedNot statednot confirmed
New York2 years or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first430 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
North Carolina2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first420 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
North Dakota1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Ohio1 year or 18,000 miles, whichever comes first3 (1 safety)30 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Oklahoma1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Oregon2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first3 (1 safety)30 calendar daysNot statedconfirmed
Pennsylvania1 year or 12,000 miles or the warranty term, whichever ends first330 calendar daysOptionalconfirmed
Rhode Island1 year or 15,000 miles, whichever comes first430 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
South Carolina1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first330 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
South Dakota1 year or 12,000 miles, whichever comes first (the tests can run to 2 years or 24,000 miles)430 calendar daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Tennessee1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first330 daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Texas2 years or 24,000 miles or the warranty term, whichever ends first4 (2 safety)30 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
Utah1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Vermontthe manufacturer’s express warranty term330 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
Virginia18 months3 (1 safety)30 calendar daysOptionalconfirmed
Washington2 years or 24,000 miles, whichever comes first4 (2 safety)30 calendar daysState-run programconfirmed
West Virginia1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first3 (1 safety)30 calendar daysNot statedconfirmed
Wisconsin1 year or the warranty term, whichever ends first430 daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed
Wyoming1 year430 business daysManufacturer program firstconfirmed

What the numbers have in common

Almost every state counts repairs of the same defect, not repairs in general. Kansas, Ohio and Arkansas are the exceptions that add a test for many repairs of different problems: ten attempts of any kind in Kansas, eight in Ohio, five separate attempts in Arkansas. Washington adds a test for two different serious safety defects within a year.

A second line, for defects that can cause death or serious injury, appears in 19 jurisdictions. It lowers the count to one or two attempts. Idaho, Maine, Maryland and Minnesota limit it to a failure of the brakes or the steering, so a dangerous fault elsewhere in the car follows the ordinary count.

Calendar days or business days

18 jurisdictions count business or working days, Alaska, Colorado, Hawaii, Idaho, Illinois, Indiana, Maine, Massachusetts, Minnesota, Mississippi, Missouri, Montana, New Hampshire, North Carolina, North Dakota, Oklahoma, Utah and Wyoming. A week at the shop is seven calendar days but five business days, so a test of 30 business days is about six weeks, while 30 calendar days is a little over four. The checker asks for your total and applies the unit of your state.

Where a state hears the case

A manufacturer program, set up under the federal rule 16 CFR Part 703, is the first step in many states. Others run their own: Connecticut, District of Columbia, Florida, Georgia, Hawaii, Maine, Massachusetts, New Hampshire, New Jersey, New York, Rhode Island, Texas, Vermont and Washington. A state program is not paid for by the manufacturer, which is why owners often prefer it. The arbitration guide explains both routes.

Questions people ask

Which state has the strongest lemon law?

There is no single answer, because each law is strong on a different point. Maine, Massachusetts and Mississippi ask the fewest days out of service, Virginia has no mileage cap, Maryland gives three years to sue, and Connecticut, Florida, Texas and Washington run state programs that manufacturers must join. The comparison tool shows the trade-offs for any two states.

Which state lemon law applies if I bought the car in another state?

Most laws apply to vehicles bought, leased or registered in the state, so the state of purchase usually governs, and some also cover vehicles registered there by residents. When the two differ, read both texts: the comparison tool puts their tests side by side, and each state page links to the official text.

Why does the table say not confirmed for New Mexico?

In early November 2026 we could not open an official text of the New Mexico act: the state’s compilation refused our reader and the bills we found deal with another section. So no New Mexico figure appears here. We would rather show that label than repeat numbers from a law firm or a blog. Where only an archived copy could be read, the state page gives its date.

Check next

Laws and official pages behind this page

Written by

Independent publisher of a state-by-state reference to new and used car lemon laws in the United States, with eligibility, deadline and refund calculators

State laws checked on · Editorial policy · Contact

State lemon laws 2026, read in each state code and on state consumer pages, last checked on